share information about your program and upcoming events with colleagues at other 1890 Universities
Our Story

1890 Land-Grant Institutions Programs

The 1890 land-grant institutions are historically black universities that were established under the Second Morrill Act of 1890. NIFA’s 1890 land-grant institutions programs are intended to strengthen research, extension and teaching in the food and agricultural sciences by building the institutional capacities of the 1890 Institutions.

Learn More About Grant

About 1890

Established December 2016, the 1890 Universities Foundation (“Foundation”) supports the core missions of education, outreach and academics across the nineteen 1890 land grant universities in the United States. It is organized and operated exclusively as a 501(c)3 charitable and educational organization.

Learn More About 1890 Foundation

Upcoming Events

The 1890 land-grant system consists of the following 19 universities

Virtual Tours conducted by VSU Small Farm Outreach Program in the fall of 2020 at other 1890 Universities

West Virginia State University, Institute, WV
Kentucky State University, Frankfort, KY